Where have I been?

For the past year, this blog has been mostly ticking over. Most of my time and energies have been spent clearing my Mum’s house prior to selling – many a time I thought we wouldn’t make it!

There was so much stuff to clear, and all the emotional baggage that went with it.

Since the sale, I have had a strong sense that I need to let go of the past. My brother and I have taken a lot of Mum’s stuff back to our houses. In time, we shall need  to let go of much of this.

A few days ago I came across The New Year’s Resolution You’ve Already Broken, a guest post by Alece Ronzino on Jeff Goins’ blog, in my email inbox. Alece’s idea is that instead of making New Year resolutions we should choose a word which encapsulates our aspirations for the coming year.

As I was reading her post a word came to me – JESUS!

I commented that I could easily find 365 reasons for choosing that! 3 came immediately:

1) our goal as Christians is to become more Christ-like – ‘being transformed into his likeness’ [2Corinthians 3:18] – ‘becoming mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ’ [Ephesians 4:13]

2) He set his face like flint to do what he had to – prophesied in Isaiah 50:7 and Luke tells us that ‘as the time approached for him to be taken up into heaven, Jesus resolutely set out for Jerusalem’ (where he knew that suffering and death awaited him) [Luke 9:51]

3) Jesus is always with me – it was his promise after giving the Great Commission [Matthew 28:20], and the name given before his birth, Emanuel (God with us) [Matthew 1:23]

I’ve since thought of sources for more reasons – the ‘I am’ statements, particularly in John’s gospel; and the ‘in Christ’ statements in Paul’s letters.

I hope to do a weekly summary of what I’m finding as I meditate on Jesus throughout the year.

How about you? Have you any special thoughts about Jesus that you would like to share?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where have I been?

  1. Welcome back… Whenever I feel under stress for whatever reason I am reminded of all the trials that Jesus faced, and so I know he understands my frailties … Diane

  2. Meredith Lewis has also chosen JESUS as her word – you can find her blog at: http://www.themarineswife.com/2014/01/08/one-word-jesus/

Leave a Reply

