Bogged Down with Religion?

We had a beautiful service at church this morning – the theme was God’s everlasting love.

I shared something of my story:

asked about the benefits of salvation, I replied:- for me, the greatest thing is being certain of God’s love for me no matter what.
This didn’t happen for me until 17 years after I had made a decision to follow Jesus.
During those years, I got to the state that I thought I’d ‘blown it’, that I wasn’t a proper Christian, that I’d ‘let the side down’
– and then one day I had this sense that God accepted me just as I was, I didn’t have to do anything. I could say with Paul that ‘I have become absolutely convinced that nothing, absolutely nothing, can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither life nor death, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell – nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.’ [Rom 8:38,39 ] – and that conviction has not gone away.
Throughout the ups and downs of life during the 26 years since, I have remained convinced that God loves me and everything will turn out for the good and that when I die I shall spend eternity with God and my brothers and sisters in Christ.

The first two paragraphs of the link below sum up what had happened to me during those 17 years.

He describes how somewhere along the way – relationship gets replaced by religion, with all the misery that produces.

An Amazing Invitation – http://lifestream.org/blog/2011/11/18/an-amazing-invitation/

God intends that our walk with him should be a joy, not a burden.

Jesus said: ‘Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.’ [Matthew 11:28-30 The Message]

What’s your experience? Please share.

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in My story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bogged Down with Religion?

  1. robin claire says:

    Hi Sandra,
    You’ve commented on some of my blogs and I want you to know what a joy it is to read them. Thank you.
    I also believe to my bones that God loves me – no matter what I’ve done. I think you already read my testimony, (etc) and commented on it, so you know how I feel about God. Jesus came to us as a person (see Feeding the Finches at the top of my blog – but I think you already read that one too) to show us how much God loves us. He gave up His son – so that He could have us for His very own. We are like a great treasure to Him – like brilliant gems – but even more so; we are valuable to Him – beyond measure. I don’t know why, but we’re like His dear sheep and He is our shepherd. And, just like real shepherds still do today, our shepherd loves us, His sheep, with all His heart. I used to be a Ram in my old life, stiff-necked and stubborn, but now I’m a sheep – and I love my shepherd back!!

Leave a Reply

