The Gay Debate and Suicide

The following is a post made by Matthew Vines on facebook. It demonstrates one reason why I’m including this subject on my blog

If you have any doubts about the rightness of this cause, or if you have hesitated to take a clear stand in support of LGBT people, then read this message that I received last night:

“To be brutally honest, I watched your video this morning after deeply contemplating suicide over the inner turmoil that exists of being a gay christian. To my family, and my church family as well, such a person does not exist, so I have been excommunicated and banished as living a ‘sinful’ lifestyle.

“Your video brought a much needed light and hope. You see, I am a thinking person, and up until your video I had not heard of theologically/intellectually sound arguments in terms of pro-gay advocacy. You have sparked an enthusiasm and I pray that the sparks you are creating catch on many embers and start a fire that cannot be contained.

“Thank you for what you are doing. You have inspired me to do the same. Instead of giving up my life and ending it all, I will give my life to the cause, to enlighten and preach reconciliation so that the marginalized can indeed be free.”

Here is a link to Matthew’s video: http://matthewvines.tumblr.com/     (there is a transcript attached).

 

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in gay debate, mental health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gay Debate and Suicide

  1. He is blessed, good for him. GOD for him. No one deserves such treatment.

Leave a Reply

