Biblical Meditation 3 – A Divine Chain Reaction – from Strength to Joy

Many times when I meditate one Bible verse another comes to mind:

I lift up my eyes to the hills  where does my help come from?
My help comes from the LORD,  Maker of heaven and earth.
[Psalm 121:1,2]

mountains in Los Picos de Europa, N Spain

brings to mind:

‘Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,’ says the Lord, who has compassion on you. [Isaiah 54:10]

and:

The strength of the hills is his. [Psalm 95:4 KJV]

A key word in one verse can lead to other verses:

those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles;  they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.
[Isaiah 40:31]

 Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.
[Nehemiah 8:10]

In Thy presence is fullness of joy. [Psalm 16:11]

Thus we have moved from hills, to strength, to joy.
A divine chain reaction!

The final verse in this sequence reminds me to spend time, quality time, in God’s presence. There is a delightful little book written by a lay brother, Brother Lawrence, who worked in the kitchens, called ‘The Practice of the Presence of God’. He describes how we can experience the presence of God as we go about our daily chores. A free copy can be found here: http://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/13871/pg13871.txt

Do please share with us how you have experienced the presence of God in the small and ordinary…

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in Biblical Meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

