Physician heal thyself: treasure in jars of clay – Soul Fast update 1

Whilst writing this blog, I’m very conscious that I need to be putting the skills into practice in my own life. That is why I’m following the 40 day Soul Fast: to put my own house in order.

The main purpose of the Fast is: ‘to run a diagnostic on the life of your soul and purge whatever is keeping you from being more productive and useful.’

This is an update of the first 3 days (I’m already behind schedule, but it’s better to be thorough).

Self-awareness and the need for transformation. We all have habits which we would like to change – why else would we make (or not) New Year’s resolutions?

Cleansing – ‘to eliminate from your soul the toxins that keep you bound in negativity, unrest, confusion, fear and despair’.

We are encouraged to replace toxic thoughts with the mind of Christ and become more godly, more Christ-like.

Alignment – aligning our thoughts and behaviours with the will of God. This starts with repentance; which is not about feeling sorry but about choosing to turn around and go another, better, way.

We are encouraged to ‘invite the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Truth, to guide you into the truth about yourself’ (more self-awareness).

‘Guilt is banished through truth and love’ [Proverbs 16:6]

This brought to mind: Truth and Love – the twin pillars of my Faith.

I decided to follow Jesus because I was convinced of the truth of the resurrection: it actually happened. On the strength of that, it was worth listening to Jesus’ words and attempt to put them into practice. Years later, I had a wonderful experience of God’s love and acceptance: I haven’t looked back since. [I’ll be writing more on this in my story].

Look out for a further update next week.

Any comments? Are you following the Fast? What is your experience? Please share.

 

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast, mental health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Physician heal thyself: treasure in jars of clay – Soul Fast update 1

  1. Great post, looking forward to the updates and the ultimate results!

  2. Hi.. While I’m not doing the fast for several reasons…I do wish you well in your task at hand…Diane

Leave a Reply

