Crocheting helps mental health patients

Men learn crochet to keep their minds off their problems associated with traumatic brain injury and post traumatic stress disorder. As a bonus, they are able to make attractive gifts like shawls, scarves, beanies and bracelets for their loved ones.

Details here: http://www.camplejeuneglobe.com/news/article_83b0fbb6-7e76-11e1-b41f-001a4bcf887a.html

What’s your experience? Has crochet helped you with mental health problems? Please share.

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in crochet, mental health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crocheting helps mental health patients

  1. Our organization specializes in TBI with a site at Camp Lejeune, I love that they are using crocheting to help patients! I do not have a TBI nor PTSD, however, I do suffer from Panic Disorder and have found crocheting helps TREMENDOUSLY. It’s a very calming activity.

    Thanks for sharing this link! I will pass it on to some of my coworkers!

    – Heather

  2. delemares says:

    Thanks for the comment, Heather. I’m glad you find that crochet helps. I tried to teach it on the ward – even had some of the men having a go. It was difficult as most people were too ill to concenrate – worked ok with people who already knew how to crochet.
    btw – pleased to know you like Dr Who.

  3. Hi…I tried it once…tried to teach myself,also knitting and then I discovered I wasn’t created for ‘creativity’. I wasn’t one for crafts etc..tried many to find my niche…But then felt God had other things in mind for my life and followed where He led me. But I appreciate and am in awe of those who can do these things and create such wonderful things…Diane

    • delemares says:

      True, we all have our own particular gifts. I’m sure you are creative in the way you are so encouraging to others – and writing itself is creative.
      Thanks for your comment…. Sandra

Leave a Reply

