Wholeness (Healing) leads to Balance leads to Peace – Soul Fast update 2

Week 2 continues to emphasise the importance of spending time with God: connecting with God increases our ‘capacity to grow… to love… to change, to modify our behaviour…’

‘The 40 Day Soul Fast is for the purpose of creating in you the capacity to hear and receive God’s best plan for your life – to enlarge the capacity of your soul for the great work that lies ahead of us all.’

This week for me resonated with the concepts taught in Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT):
acceptance (accept what has happened in the past, learn and grow – also, ‘accept responsibility for what you choose to let inhabit your heart’),
balance (a balance of work, home, family and rest),
willingness (a willingness to take responsibility for our lives)

The importance of forgiveness (forgiveness heals and liberates our souls), obedience (disobedience disqualifies us from God’s rest – our consciences won’t let us rest) and repentance (not just feeling sorry, but turning to God and away from those thoughts and habits that He has shown us to be harmful to our souls).

Two of my favourite Bible passages were also highlighted this week.

Philippians 4:6,7 are two verses that have given me great comfort over the years:

Don’t worry – pray, with thankfulness. Let God know your concerns. And his peace, which transcends human logic, will protect your hearts and minds.

Cindy Trimm encourages us to turn our worries into prayers. These are two particular verses which I have shared with certain patients.

On another day, I was reminded of the turning point moment in my life; when I just knew that God accepts me as I am – but loves me too much to let me stay that way. I wrote in my journal at the time: ‘my cup runneth over’! [Psalm 23: 5]. This week, I wrote in my Soul Fast Journal : ‘Again, Lord!!!’ – in anticipation that during this fast I will experience another turning point.

I’m finding that as I work through the questions each day, the Holy Spirit is showing me that I need to work on a lot of practical things in my life. The key to being able to do that is to spend time with Him: specifically at the beginning of the day, but also to try to be mindful of his presence throughout the day. I need to foster an attitude of willingness to being obedient and do the things he shows me.

Seek – ‘seek first His kingdom… and all your needs (e.g. food and clothing)   will be met.’ [Matthew 6: 33]
Listen – be still in his presence, note what he says
Act – just DO it!

Week 2 of the 40 Day Soul Fast by Dr Cindy Trimm – see here for more in this series of posts: https://delemares.wordpress.com/category/40-day-soul-fast/ 

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wholeness (Healing) leads to Balance leads to Peace – Soul Fast update 2

  1. The Quiet Borderline says:

    Congratulations to you! I have awarded you with The Beautiful Blogger Award. You can collect it here: http://quietbpd.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/the-beautiful-blogger-award/

  2. All are wonderful points to remember in our walk of faith…Diane

Leave a Reply

