Soul Fast Day 13 – A Day of Encouragement

Today has been so encouraging that I would like to share it with you before my weekly update.

I found this day so refreshing after all the negative issues that I have been unearthing so far in this fast.

For a start we looked at one of my favourite passages from The Message:

‘Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to Me. Get away with Me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with Me and work with Me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with Me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.’ [Matthew 11:28-30]

I just love that expression: ‘Learn the unforced rhythms of grace’.

Cindy spoke about God being the God of balance. Of how He gives us sleep and the Sabbath to bring rest and recreation [an interesting word – re-creation, making anew].

She spoke about the ebb and flow of life. I recalled how at times my life expands in all directions, endless possibilities. Before I start to spread myself too thin, I’m urged to reflect and prune – a time to focus on which area to concentrate on.

This fast is just such a time of reflection. Around the time I retired, I had all sorts of plans of what I could do: I wanted to share what I had learned as a nurse, to spend more time on my crochet and photography. Now it seems that my varied interests and strengths can be focussed on my blog.

‘The Sabbath [the day of rest] provides access to the inner rhythm of creation itself, where the soul can be weaned from the world’s control and mentored by God. It is a time to be your true self; not a role you play. There is great mystery in ceasing to do and yet accomplishing more. That is what God promises He will do through you – if, that is, you are willing to trust He can run the universe without you.’

 

Are you following the Soul Fast? What are your experiences?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Soul Fast Day 13 – A Day of Encouragement

  1. scskillman says:

    I’m following a daily series of contemplations which can be found here: http://myemail.constantcontact.com/Daily-Meditation–The-Perennial-Tradition—–June-21–2012.html?soid=1103098668616&aid=qE_5Z5PXER8 – the current theme speaks of Union with Divine Reality. If we centre our thoughts in this way sometimes clarity and peace come without warning (I find it may often be early morning). A quote I like from the author of these daily meditations is as follows: “The Spirit gets most of her work done by stealth and disguise and not just by those who say, ‘Lord, Lord!’
    God bless you in your Soul Fast – I’m enjoying and learning from your posts about this.

    • delemares says:

      That’s so true, Sheila. The Holy Spirit so often surprises us, those wonderful ‘serendipity’ moments. In my story I shall be describing a turning point moment which illustrates this.
      I’m glad you’re enjoying my soul fast posts – today was another encouraging one.

  2. Heather says:

    I am enjoying the comments on your journey through ‘Soul Fast’. I like the sound of the book and may well buy this for myself. At present I am reading ‘Faith Hope Love’ by Mick Brooks and find it speak to me. Looking forward to your next post.

  3. I love the emphasis you put on recreation being re-creation…whole new way to look at a word and our time of relaxation…Diane

    • delemares says:

      I love playing around with words like that – and it struck me that it is very apt. We often talk about recharging our batteries by going on holiday etc. This was in the context of the Sabbath – it struck me it could be a time of allowing God to recreate us, restoring us to His original plan.

Leave a Reply

