Soul Fast Day 17 – The Key to Effortless Living!

On day 17, Cindy speaks of how receiving from God leads to effortlessness.

‘Living authentically has much to do with living effortlessly – not striving, conniving, manipulating, clamouring to get ahead etc.’

How do we receive from God? By entering into His rest. Hebrews 4:11 says, ‘Make every effort to enter that rest’. It takes effort to enter that rest, but by being still and trusting God, He will lift us up so that we soar like eagles [Isaiah 40:28-31].

‘When you rest in God, you are operating from a place of supernatural power, causing everything you do to seem effortless.’

‘Be still and know that I am God.’ [Psalm 46:10]

This verse led me to think of Zephaniah 3:17, ‘He will quiet you with his love.’ This in turn led me to read further in The Message version. [This is often how God speaks to me, one verse leading to another and another, and then a special interpretation for my current situation.]

‘the accumulated sorrows… will dissipate. You’ve carried those burdens long enough… I’ll get rid of all those [habits] who’ve made your life miserable.’

Just as He got rid of the suicidal, God now says He will get rid of those habits which have made me miserable for too long. It’s about me making every effort to get into His rest, and then He’ll do it.

‘Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.’ [Matthew 11:29-30]

What’s your experience? How does God speak to you? How do you get into God’s rest?

 

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast, Biblical Meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Soul Fast Day 17 – The Key to Effortless Living!

  1. scskillman says:

    I thnk my answer to your question is that I go on a day retreat at my local diocesan retreat house. I went to a Quiet Day on Monday called “Be Still and Know That I Am God”. 17 people attended, and we were asked to look at the landscape of our lives and to consider God’s presence/bessings,absence in that landscape.The only trouble I find with these quiet days is that when I come home again it takes me quite a long time to re-orientate myself to the routine of daily living. Ideally we should be able to harmonise these insights with our daily life. I often find I even have a “slump” afterwards as I struggle to get through my usual tasks and even feel a strange restlessness and dissatisfaction/ depression… until I get back to work on my current novel again!.

    • delemares says:

      Thanks for commenting, Sheila. I think what the Soul Fast is getting at is finding a way of incorporating experiencing God’s rest into our daily routine. Maybe like Br Lawrence did. Hence the effort needed to get there. I’m hoping I manage to achieve this during this fast.

  2. God speaks to me…like it’s myself talking back to me…I may be feeling something that’s not good or do or say something and I’ll (God) will catch myself and know that I know that it’s not right…His Spirit within is just always present with me. Other times when I’m in prayer…I just talk to Him and by doing that the answers I seek will often come. Of course other times I need to wait on His timing….Diane

Leave a Reply

