Time to Get Real – Soul Fast update 4

This week has been about thoughts. ‘As a man thinks, so he is.’

Cindy described the Soul Fast as:

‘a time to eliminate distractions and destructive mindsets by fasting from negative, life-sapping thought patterns and creating new habits of feasting on positive, life-enhancing truths about who God says He is and who you truly are’.

This starts with practicing the presence of God. On the first day we were told to ‘soak in God’s presence.’

On day two, I had a wonderful promise from God. He told me that He will get rid of the things that are making me miserable [see details at:  https://delemares.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/soul-fast-day-17-the-key-to-effortless-living/  ] – and that’s what the clutter is doing. I’m feeling overwhelmed by it. ‘When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I’ (Psalm 61:2) My rock – King Jesus.

Next, the importance of meditating on Scripture was stressed: to focus our thoughts on the Word of God – a Christian mindfulness. Biblical meditation is something I’ve done for many years, so this was encouraging.

Day four – we were asked how we wanted our life to be. ‘DREAM about how different your life can be, then WAKE UP and focus on making it happen… think about it only enough to FORMULATE A PLAN and then PUT FEET TO that plan by focussing on making it happen.’ [my caps] It’s not good enough just to dream, we have to plan how to make that dream a reality, then, put feet to it to make it happen.

Finally, it was wake up time. Day five was about order, and Cindy specifically mentioned de-cluttering (something I’d already identified the need for earlier in this fast).

I noted in my journal: ‘It’s time to stop messing about. The time to get things in order is NOW! “Take every thought captive”, no more “just one more… cig, puzzle, cup of tea” – these are not really rest breaks.’

[This reminded me of something I had read on Loren Pinilis’ blog about ‘The Prayer Test’ – for eliminating frivolous breaks:

‘When I feel like taking a break, I ask myself if I would have the same desire to take a break if I were going to pray for the entire time instead of surfing the internet or reading a few blogs.
If I still have the same urge to relax if I’ll be praying, then I can have a good sense that my need for a break is real and not just some fleeting desire for entertainment or procrastination.’

Read more at:  http://www.lifeofasteward.com/prayer-test/ ]

‘God is shouting it loud. JUST DO IT! – Do it NOW!’

Notice how God has dealt with me:

Last week there was a beautiful affirmation: ‘You do so well in so many things – you trust God, you’re articulate, you’re insightful, you’re passionate, you love – now go and do your best.’

This week the promise: He’d get rid of those things that are making me miserable.

Then I’m told to do my bit – get on with it!

Yet God is so gentle – and encouraging and faithful. He doesn’t ask/command us to do something without providing the tools, the encouragement, and the promise to be with us all the way – to the very end of time, and on into all eternity.

See at: https://delemares.wordpress.com/category/40-day-soul-fast/ for previous posts in this series.

What’s your experience of God? Is He gentle, encouraging and faithful?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time to Get Real – Soul Fast update 4

  1. God is surely faithful and patient and has watched over me my whole life…at times I didn’t recognize it always but I can see so clearly after having been through the ‘storm’ that he was there alongside me all the while…..Diane

  2. delemares says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Diane. That’s my experience of God too. We often don’t see it when we’re in the midst of trials – but looking back, we can clearly see the hand of God.

Leave a Reply

