A Life Worth Living – Soul Fast update 5

Follow my journey through ‘The 40 Day Soul Fast: Your Journey to Authentic Living [Kindle Edition]‘ by Cindy Trimm. You can find details of the book here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Day-Soul-Fast-ebook/dp/B0064O9M32/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1338819455&sr=8-3

Week 5 has focussed on our identity: who am I really, not the roles I play. My identity is not as wife, mother, grandmother, nurse etc. [I have noticed that many people with mental health problems have their identity in their disabilities: they fail to see their strengths and fail to be thankful for what they have.]

As a Christian, my identity is in Christ: not losing my identity, but fulfilling it as the person God created me to be.

We were encouraged to capitalise on our strengths. ‘Your present self is but the bud of the full flower you are destined to become – but it’s up to you to decide whether to bloom or not.’

We were encouraged to be thankful for the ‘unique combination of strengths, abilities, and special gifts’ God has given us to ‘enable us to stay true to our calling’.

‘Through Him [Christ] we receive both the generous gift of His life and the urgent task of passing it on to others.’ (Romans 1:5 The Message). Jesus came that we might have life – abundant life (John 10:10). This reminds me that the goal of Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) is a life worth living. My mission is to help others find a life worth living; which I believe is only fully found in Christ.

There is a verse in Isaiah 50 which has guided much of my writing for many years: ‘the Sovereign Lord has given me an instructed tongue [pen], to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught’ (verse 4).

Again, the importance of spending time with God is being stressed, to hear from Him, and then obey. ‘Jesus said, “If you refuse to do your part, you cut yourself off from God’s part” (Matthew 6:15 The Message).’

‘An understanding of purpose is essential for authentic living, not only understanding your divine purpose overall, but also living purposefully… you must be intentional, deliberate, circumspect and mindful.’ Jesus said, ‘In a word, what I’m saying is, “Grow up.” You’re kingdom subjects. Now live like it. Live out your God-created identity. Live generously and graciously toward others, the way God lives toward you (Matthew 5:48 The Message).

To live purposefully, we have to make choices. Cindy writes: ‘The first decision you should make… is to invite [Jesus] into your heart to be your Saviour. The next is to allow Him to be Lord over your life. He will remove the curse, lift the burdens, and usher you into a world full of blessings. Choose life not death… ’ [Please note: being a Christian does not mean that life will be without hardships, sorrows, etc – but that Jesus will be there with us every step of the way].

That same day, I also read in ‘Word for Today’ by Bob Gass about the importance of making Jesus Lord over every area of my life. I realised that there are areas where He is not Lord, areas where I do my own thing. I noted in my journal, ‘could this be the key to all this?’ Is this the key to dealing with my weaknesses? Let’s see in the next 3 weeks of the Fast.

See at: https://delemares.wordpress.com/category/40-day-soul-fast/ for previous posts in this series.

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Life Worth Living – Soul Fast update 5

  1. boldkevin says:

    Hi 🙂
    Loved the post! Thank you so much for sharing it.
    KInd Regards and God bless you.
    Kevin.

  2. successbmine says:

    Great post, Sandra. I like the statement: “As a Christian, my identity is in Christ: not losing my identity, but fulfilling it as the person God created me to be.” Each of us has been uniquely created for a unique purpose, but we will never discover or live it without the Lord.

Leave a Reply

