Reading the Bible – Part 1

Last year we celibrated 400yrs since the publication of the King James Bible. It’s the one book that’s had the greatest impact on western culture. It’s also been called one of the least-read best-sellers. Do you plan on reading the Bible, but somehow get stuck?

Here’s a link to Michael Hyatt’s account of how he reads the Bible, and enjoys it. There are also some interesting comments. http://michaelhyatt.com/read-the-bible.html

I’m planning on writing a series on Bible reading/study/meditation. This article says a lot of what I plan on saying.

What’s your experience? If you aren’t a Bible reader, what’s keeping you from it? If you are, what advice would you offer others? Please leave a comment.

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading the Bible – Part 1

  1. I have read a great deal of the Bible previously in more depth than right now….but I do read some scripture every day and a devotional which is related to the scripture…and then I pray. I’ve been doing it this way since the beginning of the year and sometimes I will pick up the Bible and read a few chapters at a time in a particular ‘book’….I find that the Holy Spirit gives me some of what I read at times when I need it in a particular situation…..Diane

    • delemares says:

      Thanks for sharing this, Diane. Isn’t it wonderful how the Holy Spirit reminds of a particular passage in time of need? I’ve given some examples of this in ‘My Story’… Sandra

  2. Jim Haw says:

    I loved the Michael Hyatt post. Glad to see you will be adding your thoughts on the subject.

Leave a Reply

