The Power of Doing – Soul Fast update 7

Follow my journey through ‘The 40 Day Soul Fast: Your Journey to Authentic Living [Kindle Edition]‘ by Cindy Trimm. You can find details of the book here:
http://www.amazon.com/The-Day-Soul-Fast-Authentic/dp/0768440262/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342619111&sr=8-1&keywords=cindy+trimm+40+day+soul+fast
or  
http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Day-Soul-Fast-ebook/dp/B0064O9M32/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1338819455&sr=8-3

‘What you do can be as toxic to your soul as what you think or say – your actions have as much power to pollute or purify as your thoughts and words.’

Day 1 was about helping. It was stressed that there has to be a balance between being and doing. Doing is important: words without action are worthless [cf James 2:26]. Helping others needs to be done with respect and humility – otherwise it can be disempowering.

Day 2 – Partnering and loyalty. ‘It’s not good for man to be alone’ [Genesis 2:18]

It is important to choose a good partner. I’m very aware of this as my husband does not share my faith, and this makes a lot of things difficult.

Day 3 – Continuing: what legacy will you leave? Credibility: ‘You are the dream… even the Gospel made flesh.’ [Wow! What a responsibility!]

Day 4 – Prioritising: ‘leaving space and time in your life for the truly important things.’ We are deluged with information, spoilt for choice. ‘Plans and schedules are important, but you shouldn’t be chained to them. Opportunities are seldom scheduled. So leave some space in your agenda to allow God to interrupt your plans.’ I can let this get out of balance, and neglect the daily chores.

‘The highest priority on your list must always be staying connected to the Presence of God and listening to His still, small voice.’

‘Life is an adventure, but too much on your mind and too many irons in the fire can eventually put out the fire. Prioritise!’ Is this another key? Is this why the fire has gone?

Cindy also mentions exercise – which I’m also neglecting.

Prioritising is characterised by temperance [moderation], a facet of the nine-fold fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5.

Day 5 – Willingness [a prerequisite for DBT (Dialectical Behaviour Therapy) to be successful]: ‘being willing to let go and let God work out his will in you’, being willing to do things God’s way.

Cindy reminded us of the quote from Isaiah 58 which is the basis for the book, describing the sort of fast God has chosen (verses 6 &7). The words that stood out for me were ‘do not hide from relatives who need your help’ (verse 7 – New Living Translation).

I was reminded of something said to me many years ago at a prophecy workshop. I was chosen as a guinea pig, and the others were encouraged to listen to God and speak out what they heard. They were also encouraged to tell me anything that came to mind during the day. There was lots of lovely stuff about being a garden, a well, a tree etc. Later that day, a young man came up to me and said, ‘Don’t give up on your family.’ I’ve never forgotten it.

My family don’t share my faith. It’s easy for me to get carried away with work, writing, posting this blog: doing things that people seem to appreciate. Every now and again, God reminds me that I have a responsibility to my family. He has reminded me again this week.

Cindy quoted Thomas Jefferson, ‘[I have] never believed there was one code of morality for a public, and another for a private man.’ (Something politicians seem to find it easy to forget. They cheat on their wives, and then wonder why the electorate might not trust them.)

It’s very easy to project a certain image on the net: to hide behind a public persona. Your family may see a very different person.

To be a person of integrity our thoughts, words and actions need to be all of a piece.

See at: https://delemares.wordpress.com/category/40-day-soul-fast/ for previous posts in this series.

How about you? Do you struggle in the area of being different in public and private life?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in 40 Day Soul Fast and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Power of Doing – Soul Fast update 7

  1. Actually…with me, it’s…what you see is what you get…People get to know what to expect from me…’twas not always thus. Sometimes I used to try to be what I thought others wanted me to be..but over the years have decided to be totally me..(I think)…Diane

Leave a Reply

