learning crochet/teaching crochet

My youngest son asked me to teach him to crochet. He works nights as a security guard – those nights can really drag.
What to teach?
I started with chain stitch, but that can be boring. So I showed him how to make chains into flowers by doing a few chains (say 12), joining with a slip stitch, then making another 12 chain, joining with a slip stitch in the same place and continuing to make 12 or so ‘petals’.

flower crop a

He made several flowers the first night. What to do with them, were there other stitches he could learn?
So I taught him how to make a granny square. Starting with a magic ring, working 4 groups of 3 trebles (double crochet in US) separated by a chain into the ring, joining with a slip stitch, 3 chain to start the next round. Then continuing to work groups of 3 treble into each space, with two groups in the corners.
By the end of the week he had made a small blanky, with the flowers attached, for his daughter’s first birthday.

jeremy's blanky crop

What simple pattern would you recommend for teaching crochet?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to learning crochet/teaching crochet

  1. I don’t know but I’d recommend you as a teacher or your son as a ‘quick’ study….Amazing…Diane

Leave a Reply

