From Soul-weariness to Hope

‘my soul is weary…
strengthen me according to your word.’ (Psalm 119:28)

painted lady 200-25

I’m currently meditating on Psalm 119 – this could take a long time, it’s the longest psalm in the Book. I read those words yesterday, and thought of another psalm:

‘Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God…’ (Psalm 42:5; 43:5)

And I was reminded of:

‘those who hope in me will not be disappointed.’ (Isaiah 49:23)

Paul knew this:

‘hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.’ (Romans 5:5)

The writer to the Hebrews tells us:

‘we have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.’ (Hebrews 6:19)

This hope is a sure and certain hope, not a ‘hope so’ hope.

Later on, the writer to the Hebrews states:

‘faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.’ (Hebrews 11:1)

For me, the greatest benefit from my turning point moment is being absolutely certain of God’s love for me, no matter what.

*    *

“Man can live about forty days without food, about three days without water, about eight minutes without air…but only for one second without hope.”
Hal Lindsey

John Mark Comer has written a wonderful book: ‘My Name is Hope: Anxiety, depression and life after melancholy’   [for UK readers see here] in which he tells his story of how God brought him out of a very dark place into the land of hope, peace and joy.

How about you – what gives you hope?

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in Biblical Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Soul-weariness to Hope

  1. those words ‘soul weariness’ so describe me right now… I am weak physically but my soul is ever so weary… But my hope is of course in the Lord and I know He will make all things ‘new’…. Diane

    • Thanks for commenting, Diane. I’ll try not to be glib – I know there are times when what’s in our head doesn’t get to our hearts – all those wonderful words, yet we’re still feeling down. Maybe contemplating on God’s love, how He’s brought us through in the past, giving us hope that He’ll continue to do so, now and always.

      • That’s not glib… it’ so true and that is what I am trying to do….so much has happened especially in the past 3 weeks and since I have this ‘sleeping’ issue and not slept well for several months these issues just had more of an impact within me… ‘my soul’…Diane

Leave a Reply

