Garden Prayer Walk – Mindfulness in the Garden

I went on a Quiet Day at Green Pastures in Poole, Dorset, UK this summer. They have a Garden Prayer Walk where we are invited to walk through the garden and stop and reflect/meditate/pray at certain numbered spots. A leaflet gives a Bible verse and suggestions as to what we might do at that place. We are encouraged to use all our senses:-

– to look, look around at the peaceful garden

– to listen, listen to the sound of the waterfall

– to touch, touch the rough bark of a tree

– to smell, smell the crushed leaves of the herbs.

This reminded me of the mindful walks I have had with groups of patients at Woodhaven, the acute mental health unit where I used to nurse.

On returning home, I looked around my own garden, and have started to plan my own prayer walk.

We like holidaying near the Mediterranean, and over the years have planted some Mediterranean plants: a fig tree, a grapevine, and an olive tree – all mentioned in the Bible.

Let me share with you some elements from my garden prayer walk.

DSC_0010

Fig tree: Jesus told a parable about a fig tree that bore no fruit. It had borne no fruit for three years. The owner thought it was a waste of space and wanted to cut it down; but the man tending the vineyard wanted to give it another chance. ‘Sir… leave it alone for one more year, and I’ll dig round it and fertilise it. If it bears fruit next year, fine! If not, then cut it down.’ [Luke 13:8,9]

This reminds me that our God is the God of the second chance – and more, He’ll always give us another chance if we turn to Him – that’s what repentance is really about.

My prayer: Thank You, Father, for giving me another chance. Thank You that You still have work for me to do, that just as You reinstated Peter after He denied knowing You, so You allow me to feed Your lambs [John 21:15] by the words I write.

How about you? Do you have a special place in your garden, or around your house, that gives prompts for prayer or meditation?

I’ll be writing more in this series over the next few weeks.

About Sandra Delemare

follower of Jesus, retired mental health nurse, writer. Interests: crochet, photography, wildlife I blog on biblical meditation, mental health and crochet. I'm also posting a series on my life story so people know where I'm coming from.
This entry was posted in Biblical Meditation, Garden Prayer Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden Prayer Walk – Mindfulness in the Garden

  1. We don’t have a very big garden but it is peaceful and has many trees… we moved last Oct. and we just planted flowers, put up bird feeders as I love watching them…….It is true when you just sit surrounded by nature it is soothing… Diane

    • Thanks for commenting, Diane. It doesn’t need to be a big garden for this – even a single flower can be used for meditation. As for watching the birds – I’d planned a mindfulness session with some patients when I went into the room they were looking through the window watching the birds on some bird feeders they’d made – so I scrapped what I’d planned and we did a mindfulness of watching the birds!
      btw – must be a fairly big garden to have many trees – I guess size of garden is relative.

  2. Reblogged this on WoodHaven – The Dream Team and commented:

    This post was partly inspired by mindful walks in Woodhaven garden

Leave a Reply

